Home Page

EYFS Information

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Curriculum in our Nursery and Reception classes is planned according to the EYFS Framework which explains how and what children should be learning to support their healthy development up to the age of five. Children learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through seven areas of learning and development.


Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first. These are:

Communication and language

Physical development

Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for a child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:



Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design.


Our Reception and Nursery staff use these seven areas to plan children's learning and activities and make sure that the activities are suited to each child’s unique needs and interests. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.


We aim to provide a secure, stimulating environment in which young children can explore areas of learning at their own pace. We monitor individual progress and provide opportunities to extend children’s ideas and skills.